9 key points to consider before buying a new house

9 key points to consider before buying a new house

Buying a new house is no simple task. For many of you, it will be the biggest deal of your life. A high quality construction is therefore essential. Among the many things to check, we have established 9 key points.

1. Is the contractor certified at the Garantie de construction résidentielle (GCR)?

The GCR coverage is a significant advantage for a buyer. Generally, a certified GCR contractor is financially solvent. GCR enjoy of an inspection team that does site visits. However, it is not all new buildings that are covered by GCR. The guarantee is applied to single-family detached dwellings, semi-detached or row houses; to multi-family buildings with two to five non-condominium dwellings (duplex, triplex, etc.) and to condo buildings of four or less superimposed units.

2. Conduct an investigation on the contractor

When we buy a car it is not something we take lightly, we should do the same thing for a property. “Scrutinizing” the contractor is a good idea. E.g.: ensure that the satisfaction of the neighbors who bought a property from the same builder, ensure that the contractor entered into arbitration on the website of Régie du bâtiment du Québec (RBQ) and ensure that the contractor has his licence from RBQ 1.1.1 or 1.1.2. Also ensure:

  • How long has he been in business, how many successful projects he has on his road map? (we can see it on the quality of the construction and on the after sale service and we can also get in touch with co-owners , suggests Me Allard.);
  • Does he often change his firm name or is he being prosecuted? To determine it you can visit http://jugements.qc.ca;
  • Has he ever been the subject of complaints to Office de la protection du consommateur? You can verify it at http://opc.gouv.qc.ca;
  • Is the builder registered with la Régie du bâtiment du Québec? You can consult the Licence holder’s repertory at https://www.rbq.gouv.qc.ca;
  • Do all the documents he provides to you are clear? Is it easy to get information?
  • Is the staff from the sales office open-minded and able of providing specific answers to the questions being asked?

3. Audit the soundproofing

If you are a homeworker or if you need specific rooms to be soundproofed, make sure to express it to the contractor because this element rarely forms part in the base estimate. However, if your investment relates to a condominium, a semi-detached house or a multi-family building, the soundproofing should be an integral part of your project.

4. Take into account the insulation

The future buyer must be sure that the property is built to adhere to high insulation standards. In this way, he won’t hit the roof when he’ll receive heating bills. To preserve the air quality in a house that is airtight, the buyer should ensure that the heat recovery ventilator (HRV now mandatory) is of good quality and maintains a high quality of interior air.

5. Proper doors and windows

We have to make sure there are proper insulating and soundproofing doors and that windows were installed by following the standards of best practices in the industry (e.g. from inside instead of the outside), that the framing had good insulation and caulking and the interior of the double glazing has a low-emissivity film (LowE Argon) which will reduce heat loss.

6. What is the building code in force?

Municipalities are free to enforce construction norms that they want on their territory. It is agreed that the use of the most recent code should guarantee a best construction quality.

7. Ensure the good quality of materials used

Certain contractors use less expensive glitzy materials instead of sustainable materials. We must be vigilant and verify their quality and sustainability. For example, a quartz kitchen counter will be more sustainable than a melanin or a laminate kitchen counter, hardwood floorings will be more sustainable than floating floorings.

8. Hire an inspector

For the building time, the buyer can hire an inspector, preferably a member of a professional corporation (architect, engineer or professional technologist) because they have insurance. He will verify the different steps of the construction and he will ask the builder to fix a certain thing or to install a more performing insulant in the walls, etc. The builder may not appreciate but the buyer has the right to ask.

9. Choice of lot and sector

It’s important to make sure that the lot and the sector match with your lifestyle. The issue of the acreage will be important according to needs (e.g. outdoor life, future extension project, need of intimacy, etc.). Other factors that you could take into account: lot conditions, type of subsoil, orientation, zoning certificate, neighborhood, services, etc.

A few months ago, I visited many builders with the objective of buying my first home, it was exciting and stressful at the same time. I live now in a wonderful new house signed by MCL that makes all my friends jealous. I would like to thank the MCL team for taking the time to respond to all of my questions and for their excellent service. I strongly recommend them!

  • Myriame Germain-Poirier

Source : https://www.guidehabitation.ca

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT FROM THE BLOG SECTION

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT FROM THE BLOG SECTION

9 éléments à considérer avant l’achat d’une maison neuve

9 éléments à considérer avant l’achat d’une maison neuve

Acheter une maison neuve n’est pas une mince affaire. Pour plusieurs, ce sera la plus grosse transaction de leur vie. La qualité de sa construction est donc essentielle. Parmi les nombreuses choses à vérifier, nous avons établi 9 points essentiels.

1. L’entrepreneur est-il accrédité à la Garantie de construction résidentielle (GCR) ?

Bénéficier de la protection de la GCR constitue un net avantage pour un acheteur. Un entrepreneur accrédité à la GCR est habituellement solvable financièrement. La GCR possède aussi une équipe d’inspecteurs qui visitent les chantiers. Mais attention, tous les bâtiments neufs ne sont pas couverts par la GCR . La Garantie s’applique aux maisons unifamiliales isolées, jumelées ou en rangée; aux bâtiments multifamiliaux de deux à cinq logements non détenus en copropriété divise (duplex, triplex, etc.) et aux immeubles à condos comptant quatre unités superposées ou moins.

2. Faire une « enquête » sur l’entrepreneur

Lorsqu’on achète une voiture, on ne le fait pas à la légère, on devrait faire la même chose pour une propriété. « Scruter à la loupe » l’entrepreneur est donc une bonne idée. Ex. : vérifier si les voisins qui ont acheté une propriété du même constructeur sont satisfaits, vérifier sur le site de la Régie du bâtiment (RBQ) si l’entrepreneur a fait l’objet d’un arbitrage et vérifier si l’entrepreneur a sa licence de la RBQ 1.1.1 ou 1.1.2. À vérifier également :

  • Depuis combien de temps est-il en affaires, combien de projets réussis a-t-il sur sa feuille de route ? (on peut aller les voir, suggère Me Allard et s’informer auprès des copropriétaires sur la qualité de la construction et du service après-vente);
  • Change-t-il souvent de raison sociale ou a-t-il fait l’objet de poursuites ? Pour le savoir consulter le http://jugements.qc.ca;
  • A-t-il fait l’objet de plaintes auprès de l’Office de la protection du consommateur ? On le vérifie au http://opc.gouv.qc.ca;
  • Le constructeur est-il enregistré auprès de la Régie du bâtiment du Québec ? On consulte le registre des détenteurs de licence au https://www.rbq.gouv.qc.ca;
  • Les documents qu’il nous remet sont-ils clairs ? Est-il facile d’obtenir de l’information ?
  • Le personnel du bureau des ventes est-il ouvert et capable de fournir des réponses précises aux questions que l’on pose ?

3. Vérifier l’insonorisation

Si vous êtes un travailleur à domicile ou encore si vous avez besoin que certaines pièces soient insonorisées, assurez-vous d’en faire faire part à votre entrepreneur car cet élément fait rarement partie du devis de base. Toutefois, si votre investissement concerne une copropriété, un semi-détaché ou un multi-logement, l’insonorisation devrait faire partie intégrante de votre projet.

4. Tenir compte de l’isolation

Le futur acheteur doit s’assurer que la propriété est construite en respectant des normes d’isolation élevées. De cette façon, il ne sautera pas au plafond lorsqu’il recevra ces factures de chauffage. Pour conserver une bonne qualité de l’air dans une maison étanche, l’acheteur doit voir à ce que le ventilateur récupérateur de chaleur (VRC, obligatoire aujourd’hui) soit de bonne qualité et qu’il maintient une bonne qualité de l’air intérieur.

5. Des bonnes portes et fenêtres

Il faut s’assurer d’avoir de bonnes portes isolantes et insonorisantes et voir à ce que les fenêtres soient installées selon les règles de l’art (ex. : par l’intérieur plutôt que par l’extérieur), que le cadrage soit bien isolé et calfeutré et que l’intérieur du double vitrage contienne une pellicule à faible émissivité (LowE Argon) qui réduira les pertes thermiques.

6. Quel est le code de construction en vigueur?

Les municipalités sont libres d’appliquer sur leur territoire les normes de construction qu’elles désirent. Il est entendu, que l’usage du code le plus récent devrait garantir une meilleure qualité de construction.

7. S’assurer de la qualité des matériaux utilisés

Certains entrepreneurs utilisent des matériaux tape à l’oeil, moins chers, plutôt que des matériaux durables. Il faut être vigilants et vérifier leur qualité et leur durabilité. Par exemple, un comptoir en cuisine en quartz sera plus durable qu’un comptoir en stratifié ou en mélamine, des planchers en bois franc auront aussi une durée plus grande que des planchers flottants.

8. Engager un inspecteur

Pour la durée de la construction, l’acheteur peut engager un inspecteur, de préférence membre d’un ordre professionnel (architecte, ingénieur ou technologue professionnel) car il possède une assurance. Il vérifiera les différentes étapes de la construction et demandera au constructeur de corriger telle chose ou de mettre un isolant plus performant dans les murs, etc. Le constructeur n’appréciera peut-être pas mais l’acheteur est en droit de le demander

9. Choix du terrain et du secteur

Il est très important de s’assurer que le terrain et le secteur correspondent à votre style de vie. La question de superficie sera importante selon vos besoins (ex: la vie extérieure, projet futur d’agrandissement, l’intimité désirée, etc..). Voici d’autres éléments que vous voudrez tenir compte : les conditions du terrain, la nature du sous-sol, l’orientation, le certificat d’urbanisme, le voisinage, les services, etc.

Source : https://www.guidehabitation.ca

PRENDRE RENDEZ-VOUS SECTION BLOGUE

PRENDRE RENDEZ-VOUS SECTION BLOGUE